Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

Sour. Sweet. Crunchy. Elegant. Fast.

JapaneseBanquet01

Now this looks like a good time. A Japanese feast, with all kinds of dishes from sushi to shabu-shabu. I wish I could find a better picture, though, so I could zero in on the small rectangular dish at the bottom left-hand corner.

That’s the pickles.

Japanese pickles are different from Western ones. The Japanese ones have more of the vegetables’ natural flavour, and they can be seasoned with all kinds of different ingredients – miso, rice bran, chilis, shiso leaves, sometimes even the leftovers from the sake-making process. There are many different varieties, and they go far beyond cucumbers with their vegetable choices. They’re a delightful way to get more vegetables into your diet. Their flavours are subtle, elegant… and addictive.

Usually I write about recipes I’ve tried before, but today I’m going to share a recipe I intend to try. It’s a quick and easy recipe for Japanese pickles using cucumbers and carrots, which I found on the blog Chubby Hubby. These are not the kind of pickles you seal in jars and keep for years – they have to be refrigerated, and they’ll keep for about 10 days. But I’m pretty sure they won’t last that long, in my house. :-)

Here’s the link: “Pantry Basics: A Quick Pickle Recipe – Japanese Pikurusu“. If you happen to make them before I do, please let me know how they turned out! :-)

11 comments on “Sour. Sweet. Crunchy. Elegant. Fast.

  1. judy
    May 2, 2013

    What are Japanese cucumbers?

  2. judy
    May 2, 2013

    Like the ones the Americans use for pickles?

    • thinkreadcook
      May 2, 2013

      I’d use the nicest eating-cucumbers I could find. Some of the ones that are specifically for pickling are to coarse for this. :-)

  3. judy
    May 3, 2013

    Ok. Thank you. I’m so sad.

  4. judy
    May 4, 2013

    The table looks wonderful. I said i would dry myself out crying and I have. I keep looking for him. Slowly it’ll get better I know. Oh I was born in england.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 5, 2013

      It’s a process, losing a pet. I’ve lost them before too. The immediate part is always the worst. Eventually only the happy memories remain. I’m thinking of you. Stay strong.

  5. judy
    May 5, 2013

    I’m afraid I’m not being strong at all. I had to send one off a few years ago and that was pretty bad but now I can’t stop crying. Maybe because he’s my last.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 2, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 155 other followers

