Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Grains (to Make Bread)!

coconut01

Looking for a grain-free bread recipe the other day, I came across this recipe on Maria’s Delicious and Nutritious Journal and decided to give it a try.

Why do I want to make grain-free bread? Well, as I’ve mentioned before, wheat hates me. And while I’ve often bought or made bread from other grains, I’ve found that eating grain of any kind on a regular basis makes me feel weighted down and tired and dull; like I’ve got Eeyore around my neck or something. But there are still times when nothing but a sandwich, or toast and cheese, will do.

Maria’s recipe calls for coconut flour, psyllium husk powder, eggs, baking powder, salt, and boiling water. Nary a grain in sight. You’d wonder how it could possibly turn into bread; but it does. It rises beautifully, and produces a delightfully textured loaf with great “tear” and virtually no crumbs. It’s tasty, and makes good sandwiches and fine toast. There’s no yeast in it, so it doesn’t taste yeasty; more like a kind of quickbread flavour. It’s also dead easy to make. No kneading, no food-processor, no big technique. Just mix and bake.

I’m going to be doing this again. I can’t say it saves me money over buying grain bread; but I feel a lot better when I eat it. Do check out the recipe, if you and grains don’t get along. It might put bread back on your menu.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

