Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

Part 2: Transforming the Fairy Cabbage (into something not only edible but delicious)

BrusselsSprouts01

Yuck.

In common with many people, I hate Brussels sprouts. “Fairy Cabbages”? Bah. Hellspawned Junior Demon Cabbages, more like. Sure, they’re good for you: vitamins, iron, flavonoids, metabolites, woo-hoo! But to me they taste stale, like the distilled essence of kitchen wallpaper in an apartment where cabbage was cooked – and overcooked – every single day. By a depressed person. In the rain.

But a number of years ago, my husband and I heard a radio broadcast in which someone described how to make these vile little torture-balls taste divine. And when we tried it, we agreed.

Cook them this way, and they’re great. One of my favourite dishes. Even my son likes them.

You’d never know they were the same vegetable.

 

Excellent Brussels Sprouts

Ingredients:

Brussels sprouts – enough for the number of people eating them

1/2 to 1 pound bacon, chopped

1 or 2 onions, thinly sliced

 

Method:

1.  Remove cores and outer leaves of Brussels sprouts; discard. Separate each Brussels sprout into individual leaves, or chop or shred sprouts. The cores are the part that give Brussels sprouts that disgusting stale-cabbage flavour, so get rid of them altogether.

2.  Fry bacon in a skillet or wok until nearly done to your liking, then add onions and stir-fry in bacon fat until they’re transparent and browned. This will also complete the cooking of the bacon.

3.  For the last 45 seconds or so of cooking, add Brussels sprout leaves and stir-fry until tender-crisp.

4. Enjoy!

6 comments on “Part 2: Transforming the Fairy Cabbage (into something not only edible but delicious)

  1. MyMagicPill
    March 27, 2013

    I adore brussels sprouts! I always have, even when I hated most veggies. I called them “baby cabbages” when I was a kid. My current fave way to make them is to cut them in half top to bottom and roast them. You can toss in a little olive oil first if you like. Yum!

    • thinkreadcook
      March 27, 2013

      I have also had them very roasted with balsamic vinegar, and they were lovely that way… especially on rice crackers, with creamy cheese. So I will admit to enjoying them two ways. 🙂

      • MyMagicPill
        March 27, 2013

        That sounds really good too!

  2. Lilly Sue
    March 27, 2013

    I love brussels sprouts! But I know many do not…I just like them roasted/sauteed with butter 🙂 I will have to try them this way though. Thanks!

    • thinkreadcook
      March 27, 2013

      If you like them in the first place, I suspect you’ll really love them when you bring them to the Bacon Side of the Force. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 27, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

