Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

What do You Eat When You’re Feeling Exhausted?

Sleepwalker

Lately I’ve had a lot in common with this sleepwalking plastic dude. Early spring often makes me feel that way – like I’m sleepwalking through my day, and would much rather be in bed. I’m getting enough sleep, eating nutritious foods, taking my vitamins, and I’d be drinking a lot of coffee if coffee didn’t hate me. I just don’t seem to have any energy. It’s like all the things outdoors that are budding and sprouting are drawing their energy from me, and I have none left for myself. Yeah, that’s a pretty egocentric view of the universe; but hey, I’m a writer, so what did you expect? πŸ™‚

Today, instead of recipes or thoughts or recommendations, I have a question: What do you eat when you’re feeling fatigued? What meal or snack or dish perks up your energy when you’ve gone for days feeling like the Limp Dishrag of the Cosmos? What do you eat, and how do you prepare it?

Please share… in case I’m not the only sleepwalker among us!

27 comments on “What do You Eat When You’re Feeling Exhausted?

  1. So many choices as to why you’re not energetic. Caffeine is probably depleting your nutrients that are needed for energy. Have you been on a fat free diet too? Balance your diet with colorful food loaded with nutrients. Try foods with zinc to increase your appetite and hot spicy foods to rev up your metabolism. Eat mini-meals throughout the day. Blessings,

    • thinkreadcook
      April 16, 2013

      Thanks for your suggestions! I can’t drink coffee, so my caffeine intake isn’t too bad – I drink tea. Fat-free diets seem pretty unhealthy to me; glad you’re not advocating them either! πŸ™‚

      • I really like your blog and your slogan that no one way of eating works for everyone . . . Amen! It’s the common sense approach that I’ve been preaching forever!

        Since all nutrients work in conjunction with each other, try adding Vitamin C with your foods with iron intake and see if that’ll increase your energy. You’ve found another follower, best wishes! (Also tea contains caffeine but you don’t seem the type to overdo)

      • thinkreadcook
        April 16, 2013

        Thank you so much for your kind words – I really appreciate them! πŸ˜€

  2. theflashcook
    April 15, 2013

    I had to pull an (almost) all-nighter last night and woke up this morning really craving cereal – it’s like my body needed carbohydrates to perk up. Cheerios did the trick. well, and coffee, of course.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 16, 2013

      Oddly enough, yesterday evening I had mad carbohydrate cravings and ate a bunch of rice-noodles with basil and beef. Maybe my carb and protein balance is out of whack. Thanks for sharing the idea! πŸ™‚

      • theflashcook
        April 16, 2013

        the body knows sometimes, right? they say when you are iron deficient, your body craves red meat. maybe that’s the explanation for my periodic chocolate cravings…:)

      • thinkreadcook
        April 16, 2013

        Hey, chocolate is a food group. It’s not good to have chocolate deficiency! πŸ™‚

  3. judy
    April 15, 2013

    Nothing probably. If i’m so exhausted then i wouldn’t have energy to make myself anything. I’d either eat rubbish or get take out or just not eat.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 16, 2013

      I, too, find it’s a temptation to eat junk food when I’m tired, and so far I’ve mostly resisted it… mostly. πŸ™‚ I guess it’s the carbohydrates that are so easy to crave.

  4. Sam Han
    April 16, 2013

    i must admit to bad habits and coffee is my biggest vice. i drink it like it’s plain water to me. but i take chinese double boiled soup once in a while to rejuvenate my body. the simplest form is 10g american ginseng, one spring chicken (scalded and remove skin) and enough water to completely cover the whole bird, place in a double boiler and steam for 2-4 hours (depending how patient you are). Add a pinch of salt, skim off fats and drink.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 16, 2013

      My mother-in-law used to make wonderful revitalizing Chinese soup – that’s good advice. Thanks! πŸ™‚

  5. Chef Alzaid
    April 16, 2013

    I would make a stew of some sort, my favorite comfort food. I would start by cracking open a cold beer and then begin chopping my veggies. Prepping would take me about 15 minutes. I wait for another hour or so thereafter for the meat to soften and breakdown. In that hour wait I would turn on some calm music and think about life or maybe read a book. A tall glass of red wine and a loaf of bread with my stew when It’s ready. Then, I sleep.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 16, 2013

      Sounds both relaxing and delicious at the same time! Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

  6. judy
    April 16, 2013

    Cheerios? So much sugar. Chocolate is such an important food stuff.

  7. judy
    April 16, 2013

    Oh. I forgot. Jewish chicken is the best. Ot’s also known as jewish penicillin.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 16, 2013

      Though I’m not Jewish myself, I spent much of my childhood in a Jewish neighbourhood. So I discovered the many virtues of Jewish chicken soup. Especially with kreplach! πŸ™‚

  8. dleonard
    April 16, 2013

    I’m 100% behind that chocolate suggestion. Whatever ails me feels better with chocolate. Even if there’s no medical evidence for it producing energy for longer than about 5 minutes – it makes me happy. Happiness makes me feel more alive. Ergo – chocolate keeps me awake and I challenge any doubters to a choc-off!

  9. judy
    April 16, 2013

    Ooh. My grandms made wonderful kreplach. From the Old Country. Ukraine. Did you ever have kenaidels? I made chicken soup for Passover. It was highly compimented. Mind you i did season with chicken powder. But it was jolly good. Not connected but she made the best pickles ever.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 17, 2013

      I’ve never had kenaidels – what are they? (Back when I could eat wheat I used to love knishes, but I’ve never had knaidels.) πŸ™‚

      • judy
        April 17, 2013

        I’m sorry that went out twice.

      • thinkreadcook
        April 17, 2013

        No worries. πŸ™‚

  10. judy
    April 17, 2013

    I am ashamed to say i don’t remember what knishes are. I think americans call kneidels matza balls. Does that help?

    • thinkreadcook
      April 17, 2013

      Oh, yes… I used to enjoy those, too! πŸ™‚ Knishes are a kind of pastry with meat and/or potato in them, served hot with gravy. There was a deli in my neighbourhood that used to do them really well.

  11. judy
    April 17, 2013

    Ah. My vet came and gave him a saline for a short time as he hadn’t been drinking well but that he wasn’t too dehydrated. When she saw him walk she said it’s not his arthritis but he’d had a sort of ‘stroke’ around the hip area and the blood vessels had thinned. She said she’d check his blood test results and if his sugar is ok she’ll put him on steroids to give him a better quality of life. He’s had a long life which wasn’t expected by her. He’s had some very debilitating illnessess. I think i told you. He’s had pancreatitis twice. Fingers crossed. At least i know i don’t hsve to think of saying goodbye yet.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 17, 2013

      That’s good news! I think if a cat has a happy home where he’s loved, he has a lot more to live for; I’m convinced it makes them live a longer life.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

