Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

Curried Prostate?? Not Exactly…

OrangeCauliflower

If you have a prostate, or you care about someone who does, you’ll probably want to read this. Far as that goes, if you’ve got intestines and an immune system, you’ll want to read this too. And if you’re breathing… oh, just go ahead and read on, please. 🙂

The above picture is of a cauliflower. Okay, it’s an orange cauliflower, but that’s because I like the colour. It could just as easily be a white cauliflower.

What does cauliflower have to do with prostates, the intestines and immune system, and curry? It’s kind of a three-cornered question – and here’s the three-cornered answer:

Part One: Researchers at Rutgers University have discovered that cauliflower and turmeric, eaten together, are useful in preventing prostate cancer. Read about why in this article.

Part Two: Cruciferous vegetables – such as cauliflower – have been shown to express genes that act in the intestines and boost the human immune system. Read about how it works in this article.

Part Three: Cauliflower tastes great with curry spices, including turmeric!

I suggest the following recipe, for your continued good health. This way of eating cauliflower and turmeric is really easy, and absolutely delicious. Even my cauliflower-hating son has liked it since he was little. It’s an adaptation of a recipe devised by a good friend of ours. I hope you, and all your applicable body parts, will enjoy it!

 

Curry-Roasted Cauliflower

Ingredients:

1 cauliflower

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 to 2 teaspoons turmeric

1 to 2 teaspoons cumin

1 to 2 teaspoons black mustard seed (or plain mustard seed if black is not available)

1 teaspoon salt

 

Method:

1.  Wash and dry cauliflower and separated into florets.

2.  Place cauliflower in a large bowl, drizzle with olive oil, and toss until coated.

3.  Repeat with spices and salt. Toss well to coat. Adjust quantities of spices and salt if it looks like more are needed.

4.  Place on baking sheet or in baking dish. Roast, uncovered, at 400°F for half an hour or until cauliflower is golden brown, turning halfway through. Serve and enjoy.

 

 

14 comments on “Curried Prostate?? Not Exactly…

  1. judy
    April 30, 2013

    What would one serve it with. Rice or what.

    • thinkreadcook
      April 30, 2013

      It’s more like a side dish, or just a snack in itself.

  2. judy
    May 1, 2013

    I am so sorry for getting your place of birth all mixed up. I felt I may have annoyed you. I think lotto has come to the end of the trail. I’m only thinking of myself keeping him going when he is so obviously unhappy. Oh my. Just think what sort of email you will receive from me.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 1, 2013

      Sorry if I made you feel like you annoyed me; you didn’t! 🙂 I’m sorry to hear about Lotto. Not looking forward to saying goodbye to my cat either. I think we can just cherish them while we have them, and do our best for them.

  3. judy
    May 1, 2013

    I have a friend who is iraqi Indian. A long long time ago jews had to run from Iraq. A great many of them went to india and had a very good life there. Any case her son is a vet. He will come tomorrow evening. I feel like I am sentencing him to death.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 1, 2013

      I’ll cross my fingers for both of you. It’s such a difficult time.

  4. judy
    May 1, 2013

    I will probably dry myself by crying. But thank you.

  5. Liz
    May 2, 2013

    Came straight to cauliflower its my favourite. Thanks for stopping by. Much appreciated!

  6. judy
    May 2, 2013

    It’s been done.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 2, 2013

      Your cat? So very sorry, Judy. Sending you sympathy from my side of the world…

      • judy
        May 2, 2013

        Thank you. your sympathy is welcome. .

  7. AlcoholTourism
    May 2, 2013

    I have tried cooking cauliflower for Susan a half dozen ways, with no success. This finally got me a “it’s good” remark for cauliflower! I modded it slightly with the addition of a little brown sugar and red wine vinegar. I quite enjoyed the baked consistency- I have usually steamed or satueed it before. Thanks!

    • thinkreadcook
      May 2, 2013

      Oh, that’s great – I’m glad this one was successful! 😀

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

