Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

Dinner for Everyone, or Inter-Generational Yum

RedPepperChopped

Today I was struck by this article, which says that children who eat the same food as their parents do are more likely to have healthy diets and proper nutrition.

It makes sense – but it’s not always easy to put into practice. My son started out as a child who ate everything; but then he turned four, and went through a stage of not liking anything! When he was little, like the kids in the article, getting him to eat what we were eating just wasn’t always possible.

We did find a version of jambalaya was something he took to at an early age. It’s not a super-authentic, steam-shooting-out-your-ears recipe, but it’s tasty, and not too difficult. It’s another one I cobbled together out of other recipes that didn’t quite do it for my family.

If you don’t want to use the chili peppers, you can always provide a bottle of hot sauce on the table, so tongue-frying c an be optional. This works very well when you’re serving it to young children – and to supertasters. 🙂

Inter-Generational Jambalaya

Ingredients:

approximately 1 pound of any (or all) of the following: chicken, ham, sausage – cooked and chopped

1 cup cooked shrimp, optional

oil for sautéing

1 red pepper, finely chopped

1 large onion, finely chopped

2 ribs celery, thinly sliced

4 cloves garlic, finely chopped

1 Tablespoon paprika

1/2 Tablespoon of each of the following dried herbs: thyme, oregano, garlic powder, Aleppo pepper (or other red chili pepper such as cayenne)

1 quart chicken stock

1 28-ounce can diced tomatoes

2 cups uncooked long grain rice

salt and black pepper to taste

Method:

1.  Sauté red peppers, onions, celery and garlic in oil until the onion is transparent.

2.  Stir in remaining ingredients.

3.  Bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally, until rice is cooked, approximately 25 minutes. Serve and enjoy.

12 comments on “Dinner for Everyone, or Inter-Generational Yum

  1. judy
    May 1, 2013

    And what can I use instead of shrimps

    • thinkreadcook
      May 1, 2013

      The shrimp is optional – I’m not a big shrimp fan, so I never put them in when I’m making this dish. If you don’t eat them, leave them out. 🙂

  2. judy
    May 1, 2013

    I love shrimps and prawns. I can get them in non-kosher restaurants so if I go out with joanna – daughter – we normally go non-kosher. I haven’t told you where I live yet have I! I’ve never tried lobster. My ex – with whom I share my apt! But no way my bed. That’s Lotto’s place for one more night – would never let me try it. He said if I didn’t like it he’d have to eat it. He will also cry tomorrow. He loves lotto too. It’s bedtime here – 1.40am – and he kissed loto on his forehead. Never seen him do that before. I’m not sure what your name is. Good night from a very weepy female.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 1, 2013

      I think you said you live in Israel?

      I’ll be thinking about you and your cat; it’s such a difficult thing, to lose one you love. Lobster is delicious, especially if you have it with melted butter and garlic. And my name is Jill. 🙂

  3. judy
    May 1, 2013

    Oh I did. That’s why I can’t get half the stuff here.

  4. Sam Han
    May 2, 2013

    i can imagine the jambalaya in my mouth. I’m glad yours does not include ladies fingers/okra as that can be slimy when cooking over a long period of time even though i do like them 🙂

    • thinkreadcook
      May 2, 2013

      I was always taught that okra only went into gumbo. I’ve had okra that I enjoyed… and okra that grossed me out with its snot-like oozing! 🙂

      • Sam Han
        May 2, 2013

        oh yes, you’re right. i always get these two dishes mixed up. my bad! and the snot-oozing, hahaha…

      • thinkreadcook
        May 2, 2013

        A friend says frozen okra is less snot-ridden, but I haven’t tried it yet. 🙂

      • Sam Han
        May 2, 2013

        I think okra is still best quick stir-fried. dowan any snot in my food, hehe…

      • judy
        May 2, 2013

        Ooh! That sounds so disgusting. I did make okra not so long ago which were nice but I don’t remember what I did.

      • thinkreadcook
        May 2, 2013

        If you ever remember, please let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 1, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

