Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

My Liebster Nominations

LiebsterLogo

I’m delighted to see that Lords of the Drinks and Why I Can’t Stop Reading have kindly nominated me for a Liebster Award. Thanks very much – you guys have terrific blogs, and I’m very flattered that you like mine as well.  🙂

In keeping with the round-robin nature of this, here are my 11 nominations for the Liebster awards – excellent new blogs with less than 200 followers, all well worth your time. Click these links to check them out and you’ll end up following them too!

Dream to Catch

The Flash Cook

Taste of Colours

Sculptor’s Touch

2 Kitchens

The Homesteading Hippy

The Daisy Chain Revolution

Mandy <3s Food

Cookstory

Glutenfreequest

Love and other food subs

Now, in accordance with the rules, here are my 11 questions for the nominees to answer. Nominees, I hope you’ll find the process enjoyable – or at least, not too much of a nuisance.

Questions:

1.  What 3 foods are your favourites to eat?

2.  What one food do you like least?

3.  What dish, or dishes, do you most enjoy cooking (whether or not you like to eat them)?

4.  How old were you when you first started cooking?

5.  What famous person, living or dead, would you most like to invite to your house for dinner?

6.  Why would you invite the person from Question 5?

7.  What kinds of foods do you eat? (Vegetarian? Paleo? Low-Carb? Gluten-Free? Everything??)

8.  Who or what inspires you to eat the way you do?

9.  If you could change one thing about your eating habits, what would it be?

10.  Where are you located?

11.  What’s your favourite dish from your nation or culture?

Thanks very much for participating… and for writing such great blogs!   😀

Oh, and I forgot to mention – according to the rules of the award, if you want to win, you’ve now got to nominate 11 more blogs that each have less than 200 followers, and post 11 questions for them to answer. Enjoy!

10 comments on “My Liebster Nominations

  1. Sam Han
    May 14, 2013

    Congratulations, Jill!

  2. Congratulations to you AND thank you so much for the nomination! It made my week 🙂

    So…here are my answers:

    1. What 3 foods are your favourites to eat?
    Wow, what a hard question! Okay, homemade chocolate mousse, olives and potatoes…mashed, baked or roasted! (This changes weekly!)

    2. What one food do you like least?
    Squid!! I cannot stand the texture.

    3. What dish, or dishes, do you most enjoy cooking (whether or not you like to eat them)?
    Anything that involves not following a recipe! A bit of experimentation is always great fun (even when it goes wrong and you learn something).

    4. How old were you when you first started cooking?
    I’ve always helped around the kitchen at home. I’m not sure what age I would have been though.

    5. What famous person, living or dead, would you most like to invite to your house for dinner?
    Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall!

    6. Why would you invite the person from Question 5?
    Because he really understands food, how it’s grown/ produced and he has such a passion for it! I love people who understand more about food than just what ends up on the plate.

    7. What kinds of foods do you eat? (Vegetarian? Paleo? Low-Carb? Gluten-Free? Everything??)
    Mostly anything! I found out that lactose disagreed with me a few years ago and now gluten so it has given me the incentive to experiment in the kitchen even more!

    8. Who or what inspires you to eat the way you do?
    Getting back to nature and my mum. My mum grows pretty much all her own veg and was the person who got me interested in growing and cooking as a kid and into adult life. She still inspires me today with her passion for growing anything she wants to! And getting back to nature and eating less processed stuff can only be the right thing for our bodies – right?

    9. If you could change one thing about your eating habits, what would it be?
    Nothing. I eat a little and often. Indulge every now and again, and eat as healthily as possible day to day!

    10. Where are you located?
    The UK

    11. What’s your favourite dish from your nation or culture?
    Potato cakes! An Irish classic 🙂

    x

    • thinkreadcook
      May 15, 2013

      Awesome – you’re the first one in with answers, and I’m enjoying getting to know you. Thanks for responding! 😀

  3. dleonard
    May 22, 2013

    Hi Jill,
    Thank you for the nom (I was tempted to say nom,nom,nom). You’re a stand-up gal – and I mean that, because I’ve seen your desk! You’re also classy and otherwise swell and I am honored, despite my silly manners, to be nominated.
    I’ve answered your questions in today’s post.
    But I’m afraid I’ve taken some liberties with the rules. Hopefully Mr and Mrs Liebster (and you) will forgive me.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 22, 2013

      Aw… thanks, D! You’re a swell dude yourself – and whoever Liebster is/ was/ will be, I’m sure they won’t mind the rules being bent a little! 🙂

      • dleonard
        May 22, 2013

        The bending’s fine, but I dunno about the twisting…

      • thinkreadcook
        May 22, 2013

        If it must be twisted, let it not be bitter. Unless there’s tonic water involved.

  4. The Homesteading Hippy
    June 13, 2013

    Here are my answers:
    1. My favorite foods are: Shepherd’s Pie, Sweet and Sour Pork, and Dutch Pannenkoeken (Dinner pancakes, similare to Crepes but thicker).
    2. I tend to dislike light sauces on pasta. Give me flavor!
    3. I really enjoy making Thai curries, especially yellow curry, because it allows me to play with spices and because it makes for great leftovers (it gets better as it ages because the spices release more of their flavor).
    4. I started cooking in college, when I spent a summer on campus without a meal plan.
    5 and 6. I would invite J.R.R. Tolkien to my house any day for some excellent cosmological discussions over dessert. I appreciate good dinner table conversation, although I tend to require a prompt to get started.
    7. I eat just about anything, as long as I can get it cheap. I like to make good food from simple ingredients. In general, most meat I eat is bulk chicken thigh from Costco. Once the opportunity presents itself, I would like to keep chickens and goats for meat in the future. I am also a gardener, and like to grow my own veggies, and I love to forage for wild edibles.
    8. My mother is quite frugal, and I think I learned a general appreciation for good food from cheap ingredients from her. Most of the recipes I use come from cookbooks, although a few of my favorites come from my mother as well.
    9. If I had a larger garden, I would produce more of my own food.
    10. I live in Vermont, USA.
    11. As I mentioned before, Pannenkoeken are my favorite Dutch dish, although I am very partial to their variety of mashed potato dishes (Stamppot).

    • thinkreadcook
      June 23, 2013

      Cool! Thanks so much for answering the questions. I grew up gardening myself, but it had the opposite effect on me. Now I love gardens… other people’s! 🙂 I enjoy your blog and applaud your efforts to be a Homesteading Hippy. Go, you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 13, 2013 by and tagged , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

