Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

A Silk Purse from a Sow’s Shoulder

PorkSteak

The other night I found myself with two pork shoulder steaks. They looked something like the picture above, but they were only about 1.5cm thick. I’d bought them because they were raised without antibiotics or hormones, and for some reason, were cheap in spite of that. Two steaks, four dollars. They stared up at me, all meaty and expectant, just waiting to be cooked.

But I had no idea what to do with them.

Of course I did a search on that glorious Series of Tubes, the Internet. This Chowhound discussion struck a chord with me, but I wanted an Asian flavour rather than a Mexican one. So I peered into the Fortress of Condiments – I mean my fridge – and decided to experiment.

The end result was a tender, juicy, delicious Meat Eating Experience. I’ve seldom had pork that was as tasty, with so little effort put into it… not to mention with so little financial outlay.

Here’s what I did. If you try it, or a variation of it, please do let me know what you did, and how it turned out!

 

Pork Shoulder Steaks

Ingredients:

Pork shoulder steaks, as many as you like – I used 2 of them, 1.5cm thick

Marinade – I used 1 teaspoon crushed ginger, 2 teaspoons minced garlic, and 1/2 cup Golden Dragon Black Bean Sauce, but you can also use your favourite meat marinade

 

Method:

1.  Marinate pork steaks in marinade of your choice for 45  minutes to 1 hour, turning halfway through.

2.  Preheat oven to 350°F.

3.  Pan-fry steaks over medium heat, 3 minutes per side.

4.  Remove steaks to an oven-proof pan and place on centre oven rack. Cook for 15 – 20 minutes or until juices run clear and desired degree of done-ness is reached. Serve and enjoy.

4 comments on “A Silk Purse from a Sow’s Shoulder

  1. judy
    May 25, 2013

    What did you cook with them?

    • thinkreadcook
      May 25, 2013

      I served some vegetables and rice with them; went nicely. Depending on the marinade you could probably serve them with anything.

  2. i prefer to amrinade it with szechuan peppercorn mixtures…

    • thinkreadcook
      May 27, 2013

      Mmmmmmmm I love Szechuan peppercorns! That tongue-tingling is cool!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

