Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

Prime Rib: Now 76% Less Intimidating!

PrimeRibRoast

I cooked my first prime rib roast yesterday.

Given the number of years I’ve been alive – which I’m not prepared to state at this point – you’d think I’d have done this before. Frankly, I’ve been intimidated by the idea of paying that much for a cut of meat, and then possibly messing it up during the cooking process. But yesterday prime rib was, as a friend of mine would say, “deadly on sale” – cheaper even than a round roast. One of them called my name, and I bought it.

When it came time to cook dinner, I muddled around for a bit, then recalled how some friends of mine had made prime rib, quite some time ago. It seemed fairly foolproof, so I gave it a try.

Mmmmmmmmmmmm. Yeah.

I made a mistake, of course: I put it into the oven too late. Given the size of the beast, I hadn’t enough time to get it to the perfect degree of rareness that my husband and I would have preferred. It was still delicious – tender, juicy, flavourful. My son, whose preference for rareness in meat rivals that of a werewolf, thought it was perfect.

Here’s the method. Prime rib, fantastically delicious… and easy.

 

Prime Rib Roast Without Terror

Ingredients:

1 prime rib roast

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1.  Preheat oven to 200°F, or a few degrees lower if your oven will allow.

2.  Season roast with salt and pepper. Place in a roasting pan, preferably a low-sided one with a rack, and put it into the oven.

3.  Roast  until the internal temperature indicates the degree of doneness you prefer. This could take a couple of hours, or more, depending on the size of the roast. Use a meat thermometer and keep an eye on the temperature as it cooks. Leave lots of time.

4.  Remove roast from the oven. Quickly sear it in a hot pan, to get a crust on the surface.

5.  Let meat rest for 10 minutes. While it rests, deglaze the pans with red wine and/or beef stock, and make jus or gravy.

6.  Carve the roast. Serve and enjoy.

19 comments on “Prime Rib: Now 76% Less Intimidating!

  1. judy
    May 28, 2013

    I would imagine I’d have to order it. I’vll never seen it. Wow imagine how much. It would cost here. I only have merlot or similar. How long can it last in the fridge. What did you make with it.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 28, 2013

      Prime rib keeps about as long as any other cooked meat lasts in the fridge. To go along with it, I made a broccoli-celery-bacon stir-fry and some rice pilaf. 🙂

  2. judy
    May 28, 2013

    I meant the wine. :-Q

  3. Sam Han
    May 28, 2013

    hahaha, my elder daughter also likes hers as rare as possible. 🙂

  4. theflashcook
    May 30, 2013

    I’ve only had prime rib in horrid buffets and have never understood the draw. But maybe home cooking is the ticket!

    • thinkreadcook
      May 30, 2013

      Oh, yeah… properly cooked prime rib is a joy. I think in buffets they can’t really control the done-ness very well, and then it sits under heat lamps, and they’re sure to season it with some kind of chemicals or something. Home-made is definitely the way to go!

  5. judy
    May 30, 2013

    I’m not a drinker. Spent too many years of my not so wild youth ending a party with my head down the loo and I don’t really like the taste. Anycase I have to buy wines when my sister and brother in law come so I don’t have plonk. I mean when you use it for cooking. How long can it stay in the fridge?

    • thinkreadcook
      May 30, 2013

      Well, I find it keeps not too badly for a few days. I have a device that sucks the air out of the bottle and keeps it sealed, and when I use that it will keep for a couple of weeks. It’s basically a little hand-pump with specially-designed rubber corks. Someone gave it to me years ago and I’ve found it very useful.

  6. judy
    May 30, 2013

    Hardly worth it for a non-drinker. What’s left of the 2 bottles they drink they take home or it goes down the drain. What can be used in cooking instead of wine?

    • thinkreadcook
      May 30, 2013

      Depends what you’re cooking. For instance, sometimes you can substitute meat stock or vegetable stock, if it’s only a little wine that’s called for. But in something like coq au vin, that calls for a large amount of wine, there really isn’t a substitute, unless you don’t mind the dish tasting very different. It’d still be good. I guess you’d call it coq au stock! 🙂

  7. judy
    May 30, 2013

    Lol. That was clever. How’s your kitty?

    • thinkreadcook
      May 30, 2013

      He’s doing better since I started feeding him a little unsalted, home-made chicken broth with his meds. Seems to be hydrating him better, and he’s put on some weight. I want him to be comfortable while he lasts.

      Once you’re feeling better, are you going to the shelter? You mentioned it a week or two ago… 🙂

  8. judy
    May 30, 2013

    Oh yes. But just as well I hadn’t gone before. I need to wait now to do all my tests and see if the hospital says operation. Oh all fun and games awaiting me. Royal canin make a tinned pate called recovery. Very good and goes down well. Lotto used to have it when he wasn’t well. See if you can get it and try a small tin to see how he reacts. Got a good smell for them. Yuk.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 30, 2013

      Thanks for the recommendation! I give my cat the same brand, the Reduced Protein formula, because he’s in kidney failure and will never recover, but the job is to try to keep his levels good for as long as possible, so he’ll live as comfy and long a life as he can. The chicken broth only adds a couple of grams of protein per day to his food intake, and makes it easier to give him the meds he needs.

  9. judy
    May 30, 2013

    The recovery is to entice him to eat a bit and it’s very wet. Sometimes that was all he’d eat and drink. I had to feed him by hand with a serviette round his little neck/chest. It was awful coming home and for him not to be here.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 30, 2013

      I can imagine. I’ve experienced it myself, that loss; but I’ve always found the joy of having a cat made the ending worthwhile. It just takes some time for the pain to pass.

      Glad you’ll be going to the shelter once they get your tests sorted. Crossing my fingers for favourable results…

  10. judy
    May 30, 2013

    Thank you. You’ll know when your cat is ready. I wish rainbow bridge was a real place.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

