Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

Socratic Potatoes

SocraticPotatoes

Did Socrates eat potatoes? No; but that was then. These days every Greek restaurant in my city offers the special Greek style roasted potatoes. Do you know the ones I mean? They’re tender inside, a bit crispy outside, lemony and seasoned and completely addictive. Sometimes I just order the potatoes and let that be my entire meal.

This is how you make them, from another cobbled-together recipe based on other recipes with variations. The nice thing about this dish is that you can vary the recipe according to your tastes. Don’t like oregano? Add a different herb to them. Want them less crispy? Add more liquid, or cover them while they bake. More lemony? Toss on some more lemon juice. They’re delicious… and the only philosophy they require is the willingness to eat starchy tubers.

Greek Style Roasted Potatoes

Ingredients:

6 baking potatoes, peeled if desired, cut into wedges

4 Tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

Juice of 1 lemon

2 to 4 Tablespoons chicken stock

1 or 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 teaspoons dried oregano

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1.  Preheat oven to 425°F.

2.  Drizzle olive oil on potatoes and toss thoroughly to coat. Add lemon juice, chicken stock, oregano, garlic, salt and pepper and toss again to mix thoroughly.

3.  Pour ingredients into roasting pan or baking pan that’s large enough so potatoes don’t overlap each other. Cover with foil or baking dish lid and bake for 30 minutes, stirring twice. Remove cover and roast an additional 30 minutes, stirring twice, or until potatoes are done. Add more liquids and/or spices at your discretion, depending on how you want them to turn out.

4.  Serve and enjoy.

17 comments on “Socratic Potatoes

  1. Sofia
    May 28, 2013

    Or maybe these potatoes are specially for philosophers 😉 They sound good!

    • thinkreadcook
      May 28, 2013

      I hadn’t thought of that! “Do you philosophize? Then eat this a roasted potato!” 😀

      • Sofia
        May 28, 2013

        Oh yeah my name means Knowledge, Philosophy… I don’t know if I philosophize or just get wound up thinking things over 🙂 Do you? However, I would definitely eat this roast potato!

      • thinkreadcook
        May 28, 2013

        Don’t know if I philosophize. I guess sometimes I try to figure out what the heck I think of things… does that count? 🙂 Since you’ve got the name for it, you’re more likely to do it than me. My name means either “youthful spirit” or “fuzzy face”, depending on which translation you like!

      • Sofia
        May 28, 2013

        Youthful spirit sounds grand, fussy face is quite amusing 🙂

      • thinkreadcook
        May 28, 2013

        Yeah, I prefer the first translation myself! 😀

      • Sofia
        May 28, 2013

        🙂

      • Sofia
        May 28, 2013

        I meant fuzzy!!!!

      • thinkreadcook
        May 28, 2013

        “Fussy” would be pretty funny, too – like a baby in a bad mood! 🙂

  2. judy
    May 28, 2013

    What is the picture? Looks like an old Arab port near Tel Aviv. Jaffa. The tourists love the place.

    • thinkreadcook
      May 28, 2013

      It’s somewhere in Greece, but I couldn’t say where. 🙂

  3. dleonard
    May 28, 2013

    I knew Socrates’ Mom! Where did you get her recipe? Oops, I’ve gone and given away my age again, haven’t I?

    • thinkreadcook
      May 28, 2013

      I’ve always suspected you were older than you claimed to be… amazingly well-preserved, though! (evil grin)

      • dleonard
        May 28, 2013

        Why thanks. The potatoes may have something to do with it!

      • thinkreadcook
        May 28, 2013

        Starchy tubers rock. So does spiced rice and lentils… maybe next time I’ll post the recipe Cleopatra’s auntie gave me. 🙂

      • dleonard
        May 28, 2013

        OOOH Cleopatra. Now there was a hot tamale!

      • thinkreadcook
        May 28, 2013

        You bet your asp she was.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 28, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

