Think, Read, Cook

Because no single way of eating works for everybody.

These Potatoes Want YOU!

MashedPotato

Today I thought I’d try something new.

You see, I have a lot of leftover mashed potatoes. I’ll bet you’ve been in that position yourself now and then. There they are in the fridge, fluffy and delightful, raw material to be used for something tasty.

And this time I’d rather use them for something more interesting than that glorious culinary classic, Reheated Mashed Potatoes.

So I’m going to ask you to do a trade with me. I’ll share a recipe that my mother used to make, and that my family and I still enjoy as a treat – it’s a great way to use up leftover mashed spudds. And in return, if you’ve got a great leftover-mashed-potato recipe, please send it to me at thinkreadcook@gmail.com or share it in the Comments. Selected recipes that you send me will be made, photographed, and then eaten… and blogged about here, so the other readers can see that you’ve got Mad Culinary Skillz. And I’ll get more excellent ways to use up my giant pile of mashed potatoes!

Here’s my part of the bargain – it’s a very cheap, tasty treat that’s not necessarily very good for you, unless you’re careful about where you buy your hot dogs. πŸ™‚ When I was growing up, we just bought El Cheapo Wieners from the grocery store, and I admit I have a weakness for them. Here we go:

Recession Hot Dog Delight

Ingredients:

1 package hot dogs (12) or equivalent good-quality wieners from your butcher

Leftover mashed potatoes – as much as you’ve got!

1 to 3 ounces cheddar cheese, grated

Method:

1.Β  Split uncooked hot dogs lengthwise, but don’t let the knife cut through all the way. They will be “butterflied”. Place on a baking sheet or in a baking pan or tray.

2.Β  Stuff mashed potatoes into hot dogs.

3.Β  Sprinkle cheddar cheese on top.

4.Β  Bake hot dogs at 350Β°F until meat is cooked, cheese is melted, and potatoes are fluffy. Serve and enjoy. (No need for a bun – you’ve got potato!)

Now, it’s your turn. What do you do with your leftover mashed spuds? Won’t you please share with the group?Β  πŸ™‚

23 comments on “These Potatoes Want YOU!

  1. judy
    June 3, 2013

    I don’t really do much with left over mash. I so love fried eggs with with lovely running deep yellow eggs. I put mash on my plate, heat it up in the microwave and then top them with fried eggs and an avocado with lots of spicey ketchup and mayo. Now the first job my son had when he came out of the army was in a sausage factory so he knows what goes into sausages!!! You said butterfly the sausages and then stuff the sausages. If they’re butterflied then stuffed or spread? Still feel rotten.

    • thinkreadcook
      June 3, 2013

      That sounds delicious! Never thought of that combination before. πŸ™‚

      You’ll split the sausages as for butterflying, but not cut them in two. Then you stuff the mashed potatoes in along the length of them. Does that help?

      • thinkreadcook
        June 3, 2013

        (And by the way, Judy, I hope you’re feeling much better, really soon!)

  2. judy
    June 3, 2013

    Still no. Closed they can be stuffed but but butterflied they’re open. What am not getting here?

    • thinkreadcook
      June 3, 2013

      I realize it’s hard to imagine until you do it. πŸ™‚ Because they’re round in profile, they don’t lie flat unless you push them. Keep them close together, and push the potato into the lengthwise gap. The closer to being butterflied they are, the more potato they can hold.

  3. judy
    June 3, 2013

    Ok

  4. Cat FitzGerald
    June 3, 2013

    I like to double down on the butter, and re-heat leftover mash in a skillet with sizzling butter. No eggs (unless maybe fried on top, yeah) or other “potato pancake” additions, just potatoes and butter. Fry until lots of lacey crispy edges have been folded in, and you are bored of flipping.

  5. salsachica
    June 3, 2013

    Oh that sounds like an interesting snack to try make. Hmm leftover mashed potatoes, rarely is there such an occurence at home. Mom adds goats cheese and chives to her mashed spuds and she serves it as a deconstructed shepherd’s pie, with the minced meat fillings to the side.

    • thinkreadcook
      June 4, 2013

      Neat idea… I always think chives make everything better. πŸ™‚

  6. AlcoholTourism
    June 4, 2013

    Susan is Irish- we don’t have “leftover potatoes”. For our typical mashed potatoes, though, we have taken to adding lox and it is _delicious_.

    • thinkreadcook
      June 4, 2013

      Never heard of this – cool! Do you add cream cheese to the potatoes as well?

      • AlcoholTourism
        June 4, 2013

        Nope, just potatoes, a little Smart Balance and almond milk and then the lox. Soooo good! Although we are not big cream cheese fans (hard to justify the calories!), I can only imagine such an addition would make it more delicious. πŸ™‚

      • thinkreadcook
        June 4, 2013

        Yum! πŸ™‚

  7. judy
    June 4, 2013

    I forgot. I also have baked beans with it. A real cordon bleu meal. Did you try recovery?

    • thinkreadcook
      June 4, 2013

      Hey, there’s nothing wrong with baked beans. πŸ™‚ One of my Mum’s favourite last-minute meals used to be ham and eggs and beans and toast.

      Haven’t tried Recovery; so far, my cat is pleased with the dry low-protein food and the chicken broth. Not sure we can even get Recovery here; I’ll keep it in mind for later, though.

  8. judy
    June 4, 2013

    Oh my. Deliciouso. My mash in the fridge is never fluffy. Always need mashing again. How much mash do you use for lovely fried in butter.

  9. judy
    June 4, 2013

    Is lox like smoked salmon? Of course in england on Sundays if we had visitors we had jewish bagels cream cheese and smoked salmon. Thank you for your good wishes. At least my hemoglobin is rising from 8 to 9.3 which is still too low but better than it was. I’m glad your kitty is eating. How I miss lotto. Especially at night in bed.

    • thinkreadcook
      June 4, 2013

      Lox is smoked salmon. It’s good news about your hemoglobin! πŸ™‚

  10. theflashcook
    June 10, 2013

    that’s quite a trilogy – mashed potatoes, hot dogs and cheese. I think that might turn out to be my daughter’s favorite meal.

    I haven’t tried this with left over mashed potatoes but you could make a version of papa rellena (stuffed potatoes) – you’d need fairly dry mashed potatoes, stuff them with a filling (we use a mixture of ground beef, raisins, onions, garlic and cumin) and then coat it with breadcrumbs and egg mixture and deep fry. It’s crazy delicious.

    • thinkreadcook
      June 11, 2013

      Oh, man, that sounds fantastic! You have good taste in food. πŸ™‚

    • judy
      June 11, 2013

      How do you stuff mashed potatoes?

  11. Judy Goldin
    July 4, 2013

    Are you alright? I’m a bit worried about you. Judy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 3, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

